top of page


The purpose of the Laymen Ministry is to equip every boy and man to become a participant in the church as a life-style missionary. Leaders work to inform, motivate, and involve boys and men in praying, studying, enlisting  giving, ministering and witnessing in their church.


President: Deacon Glenn Moore

1st Vice President: Deacon Fred Patton

2nd Vice President: Deacon Gary Turner

3rd Vice President: Brother Kaven McGary

4th Vice President: Jr. Deacon Markus D. Snead

Secretary: Deacon Tim Parison

Treasurer: Bro. William McBride                           

Junior Laymen Director: Vacant

Worship Leader: Deacon Leon Brown

Get Well, Bereavement Ministry: Deacon Jeffrey Fleming

Special Projects Coordinator: Vacant

Evangelism Ministry: Rev. David Jones

Laymen's Education Director: Deacon Luther Lewis and  Dr. Thad Jones

Laymen Coordinator: Rev. James Jones

Deacon Glenn Moore

Laymen President

Meeting Schedule

Friday, July 8th via ZOOM


Special announcement

May 8, 2022
Layman's Early Morning Worship at Pleasant Green MBC

Deacon Luther Lewis
    receives honor as recipient      of the

William F. Snorgrass Legacy Lifetime Achievement Award
presented by
NED Laymen President,
Deacon Glenn Moore

Lewis Award.jpg

District Laymen Resume In-Person Early Morning Services;
Ron Lenzy & Junior Sheard Receive Layman of the Year Honors

Story and photo by State Laymen President Thad Jones


United Missionary Baptist Church--

On Sunday, November 14, 2021, the New Era District Laymen held their first in-person Early Morning Service since they were canceled in 2020 due to the pandemic. The service was held at the United Missionary Baptist Church where Rev. James Jones is the pastor.


Rev. James Jones delivered the message with Moderator Nichols, Rev. Sheldon Gray, and Rev. Donald Graves in attendance. The service was streamed via Zoom.


Ron Lenzy Layman honor.jpg

Deacon Ron Lenzy receives honor from Laymen President Glenn Moore

During the service President Glenn Moore made up for lost time since there had been no in-person meetings for approximately a year and a half. He named Ron Lenzy, Westminister Baptist Church as the 2020 Layman of the Year for his faithful and dedicated service.


Also President Moore named the 2021 Layman of the Year. The recipient was Junior Sheard, Bethany Baptist Church who was not in attendance for his meritorious service.



*ANNOUNCEMENTS for Early Morning Service --Please submit through your Church Laymen President*


JULY 9, 2023 WORSHIP will be held at

Southside First Baptist   2015 E. 50th St., Rev. Raphael Williams, Host Pastor

Guest Church: Pleasant Green Baptist Church, Rev. Tony Gray, Pastor

Laymen worship service
Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page